top of page
Search
  • adumas

Analyzing My First Observation

Updated: May 6, 2020

Recently I had a chance to look back on my first observation as a graduate student instructor at IslandWood. While it was quite difficult for me to watch as I hate seeing myself on video, it helped me to see how much I had grown in just a few months. If you would like to see the video, you can check it out here:

Below are the observation notes I took. While they may seem critical, it was more of an observation of how I have improved from that day.


During my first observation of the video I noticed from the beginning I was not working to ensure I had student attention. I did not seem to limit outside distraction. This looked to be something that came up later in the instruction as well. While I worked to physically show how to help a gutter and set the rules, I did not check for understanding from the students. The only instruction I asked the students to repeat was the “safety freeze.” While this was an important instruction to have repeated, I noticed students were also abusing the use of the phrase. I also noticed there was not a lot of wait time given. I first had the students get in a row to play gutters and then realized I had not given them discussion time. I noticed I attempted to fix my mistake, but still did not give them enough wait time to discuss their strategy. While the activity was successful in the end, I missed many steps along the way.

In my second observation, I noticed there were many places I could have used a call and response to achieve attention from the students, but it was not used. I also noticed I did not have a way to engage the chaperone or Oscar as a co-teacher. Though the activity was thought through, the placement of each person was not well processed. I also noticed I allowed students to speak over my instruction.

I wonder what changed in my instruction from the first video to the last video. I have not re-watched my observation videos in a while, but I know I have increased my ability to use call and response as well as checking for understanding. I wonder what pushed me to use that more often now and why I didn’t use it then. I also wonder how I could have directed more student agency and worked to engage the chaperone. This reminds me of my first time teaching. I had many fumbles, but ultimately got through. Though the role out wasn’t perfect, the goal was achieved in the end. I have physical notes written to me by these students that show evidence my teaching was successful.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Generational Impacts

It surprises me everyday that I get to work with high school students to make a meaningful impact in their community. The video is just one small snippet of the wonderful work they do and the things t

bottom of page