top of page
Search
  • adumas

Giving Thanks To Those Who Support Us All!

Updated: Feb 23, 2021



I cannot believe it has been almost 9 months since we saw the start of the COVID-19 pandemic. To think this time last year I was celebrating the end of my first quarter of graduate school and reflecting upon what I can now say today has been one of the most life changing experiences of my life. Having been able to become part of a community that supports each other day in and day out, working to push each other to think outside the box and contribute to fighting injustice made me realize this type of community shouldn't be an isolated incident. Everyone deserves to be a part of a community that is accepting, that fights for equitable rights, and ensures everyone is seen as a whole person. While the pandemic may have halted my outdoor education experience in a direct way, it did not stop me from continuing to learn and grow from my peers. I used the spring to come to terms with where I wanted my education to take me and how I wanted to impact those around me. I was able to get an amazing opportunity to be a part of a once in a lifetime effort fighting COVID-19 through contact tracing, working as a program manager to assist AmeriCorps members. Through this job I have learned to utilize my education to further learn and grow from my peers and impact those that I am overseeing day in and day out. Supporting them through watercolors, cheering them on with every email I send, and finally recognizing their efforts through appreciating videos such as this:


Despite the rollercoaster we have all been in during this pandemic, it is important to have reminders such as this that show us there is light within the darkness that surrounds us. We cannot give up in our fight against inequities. We cannot give up on our goals to support each other and help our communities. As a community member, educator, and environmental activist, I must work day in and day out to ensure I am support others in every way I can in order to help support change.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Generational Impacts

It surprises me everyday that I get to work with high school students to make a meaningful impact in their community. The video is just one small snippet of the wonderful work they do and the things t

bottom of page